Instructions for Dancing

Monday October 19, 2009

looking for yourself

Filed under: Uncategorized — by hettyweston @ 9:59 pm

dissertation tldr:

I set myself a 5pm deadline for sending this dissertation work in. DID NOT HAPPEN. I had a Go meeting tonight and instead I’ve ended up staying in trying to perfect this monster essay. I don’t mind, really; it’s coming together, and I’d rather get this right for a good first impression with dissertating supervisor.

At the moment it’s still lacking any strong sense of logical progression, but it’s got some great ideas in. Also some hot sentences. In Nero’s this afternoon I could not contain my excitement any longer and after one particularly awesome sentence about metamorphic process had to text my dissertation compatiot and tell him about it. I don’t have anyone who gets my extreme Hermaphroditus-related joy, (probably a good thing,) but I think writing any kind of dissertation puts you through a similar obsessive process.

I have also got the phrase “weirdly amoral gods” in my head and really want to use it because it’s pithy and perfect. If only I could remember which of the thirteen books on my bibliog it was from…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

